Home > slashdot > Leslie Valiant Wins ‘Nobel Prize’ of Computing

Leslie Valiant Wins ‘Nobel Prize’ of Computing

March 9th, 2011 03:45 admin Leave a comment Go to comments


autospa writes “ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery today named Leslie G. Valiant of Harvard University the winner of the 2010 ACM A.M. Turing Award for his fundamental contributions to the development of computational learning theory and to the broader theory of computer science. Valiant brought together machine learning and computational complexity, leading to advances in artificial intelligence as well as computing practices such as natural language processing, handwriting recognition, and computer vision. He also launched several subfields of theoretical computer science, and developed models for parallel computing. The Turing Award, widely considered the ‘Nobel Prize in Computing,’ is named for the British mathematician Alan M. Turing. The award carries a $250,000 prize, with financial support provided by Intel Corporation and Google Inc.”

Source: Leslie Valiant Wins ‘Nobel Prize’ of Computing

Related Articles:

  1. Turing Award Goes To Distributed Computing Wrangler Leslie Lamport
  2. Why There’s No Nobel Prize In Computing
  3. Committee Lowers Nobel Prize Award
  4. Edward Snowden Nominated For Nobel Peace Prize
  5. Francois Englert and Peter W. Higgs Awarded Nobel Prize For Boson Discovery
blog comments powered by Disqus