Home > slashdot > Throttle Shared Users With OS X — Is It Possible?

Throttle Shared Users With OS X — Is It Possible?

March 4th, 2010 03:11 admin Leave a comment Go to comments

whisper_jeff writes “I work in a design studio where the production director is also the owner’s son (translation = he can do no wrong). He is fond of accessing a designer’s computer via filesharing and working directly on files off of the designer’s computers rather than transferring the files to his computer to work on them there. In so doing, he causes the designer’s computer to grind to a near-halt as the harddrive is now tasked with his open/save requests along with whatever the designer is doing. Given that there is no way he’s going to change his ways (since he doesn’t see anything wrong with it…), I was wondering if there was a way to throttle a user’s shared access to a computer (Mac OSX 10.5.8) so that his remote working would have minimal impact on our work. Google searches have revealed nothing helpful (maybe I should Bing it… :) so I was hoping someone with more technical expertise on Slashdot could offer a suggestion.”

Source: Throttle Shared Users With OS X — Is It Possible?

Related Articles:

  1. Verizon To Throttle High-Bandwidth Users
  2. Verizon To Throttle Heavy Users To Maintain Network Quality
  3. Verizon To Throttle Data Speeds For Top 5% Of Bandwidth Hogs
  4. AT&T To Throttle Top 5% Of Unlimited Data Plan Customers From October 1st
  5. Ask Slashdot: What To Do When Finding a Security Breach On Shared Hosting?
blog comments powered by Disqus